top of page
  • Writer's pictureSteffanie Russ

Welcome..the Simple Things



Welcome October!


It’s a beautiful, crisp, Autumn morning and here I sit enjoying a nice, warm cup of coffee sweetened and creamed to perfection. The whirl of yard tools can be heard in the distance as my hubby freshens up the yard. It’s been quite a while since I’ve written from here on my front porch and I’m finding it quite inspiring this morning. It feels good!


The simple things.


I see cross-crossed patterns in my front yard which I’ve affectionately started calling my Nelson Pad since it reminds me of my grandparents front yard in Kentucky. (They lived on Nelson Avenue.) I see fallen leaves in hues of orange, yellow and red scattered here and there like decorations on a Christmas tree.


I hear the chirping of tiny birds somewhere up in the pine treetops, a friendly dog barking for attention somewhere down the road, wind chimes singing, and the rustling of branches as the wind gently blows.


I feel the cool breeze upon my skin, the warm sun peeking through the trees, and the coziness of the fluffy, new socks my feet are snuggled into. I wish we had a newpair for every day!


I taste the warm, sweetness of my cuppa and smell the aroma wafting into the air and mixing in with the smells of drying leaves which fall brings. Such satisfaction.


Simple things.


So far, this morning is quiet, laid back and perfectly peaceful. God’s mercies are new every morning and with it we have a fresh slate to begin again. To slow down and take the time to appreciate the simple things we get too busy to notice most days.


These simple joys God has blessed us with are gifts we can open daily, but only if we stop to notice.

I’m guilty of rushing right on by them most days, of failing to take a moment to thank the Creator for His magnificent work and the simple blessings He gives us. I suppose you could say I cheat myself of seeing the blessings because something “bigger” often catches my eye.


Today, I’ve purposefully slowed down to “taste and see” that the Lord is good even if, even though, in spite of…whatever else life magnifies for me today. God is good and supplies us with many tiny miracles to enjoy daily if we can only take the time to notice Him in the small, simple things. He created it all for a reason.


In this Autumn season, I want to relax and take in the beauty of every blessing God chooses to show off. He’s a mighty good God, isn’t He? Won’t you join me in this endeavor? The world can quickly become a bit cumbersome and full of chaos in a single day, and burdens can weigh us down until we aren’t even able to notice the simple things. Fact.


I know it takes work and a change of perspective on our part, believe me, I struggle to notice at times too. It’s that simple though, stop today and look around for the fingerprints of God on even this day.


Taste and see, choose to stop and enjoy something, then thank Him for every little blessing as you go on your way. I’ll be right there too.


Blessings~


20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page