top of page
  • Writer's pictureSteffanie Russ

This Is a Test


Don’t you just love those “this is a test of the emergency broadcasting system” announcements followed by that long annoying beep? You know what I’m talking about?


I was thinking about the long, loud beeps in my week, actually the last six months. Maybe they weren’t actually emergencies, but rather situations seemingly perfectly served up just for me to spaz out.

Have you had any days like that recently?


Mine main one happened to be in the form of my truck which has either been on the road running like a lopsided, jolting horse was under the hood - or in the stall at the mechanics. This has been an ongoing issue since the beginning of August.


At first, I was upset because this truck belonged to our deceased son and we kind of want to keep it around for a while. I know, it may sound crazy and pointless - until you’ve been there. We took out a small loan to repair it. No big deal.


Only, after the first month with still no transportation nor end in sight and the loan money gone, I guess I can tell you I became a bit angry at the whole situation. Then, our mechanic was stumped and the dealership said we needed a new motor. Seriously, God?!


You feel me?


God lovingly blessed us with the funds to get the motor repaired. Then, there was more waiting because the particular parts we needed were on back order. Covid affected a lot of stuff, people. Eventually, the wait wasn’t as devastating to me as at the first.


I think it was around November when I picked up my repaired truck to bring it home...only there were more issues now. To make a long story shorter, today we picked it up after more repairs and more funds have been depleted. I was so excited to be sitting behind the wheel of that Ram truck and was praying for God to keep it running smoothly for another two-hundred, thousand miles...


For five minutes!


Friend, that’s all I got. Suddenly, the same jolting, lopsided horse showed up under my hood again and...my truck is back in the shop this evening for more repairs. Waiting.


Beep! This is a test...


I thought today of the verse, James 1:3, “Knowing this, that the trying of your faith worketh patience.”


The word “test” has been coming up a lot in my life lately and I realized today as I left my vehicle behind that some things had definitely changed within me. I wasn’t anxious, angry or spazzing out, I was...just me...waiting.


All the other times when the beeping alarm sounded for a test, I panicked and was flustered. Today, I believe the beep was real! Not for me to prepare for an actual emergency situation but rather for me to stop and recognize how this test and trial of the last six months has matured me and worked patience within me. Just like the Word says!


Although I still don’t have wheels, I have a peace in my soul. Yes, it’s nice to look back and see where God has brought us from, isn’t it?


Am I ready to have my truck back again? Most definitely. However, I’m learning to be content in whatsoever state I am. Growing in God is such an adventure. Along the way, He has protected me from being stuck alone on the side of the road, He has provided for us financially, and He has blessed us with an honest, although very bewildered, mechanic too. God just keeps showing up as He tries my faith and changes me.


Can you spot Him in your dilemma? Sometimes it takes a minute and a whole lot of intentionality on our part but, as in my case...God is always there working within us during these moments which try our faith. He’s making us better, for His glory.


I’m not yet sitting behind that steering wheel, but I have gained much more than a smooth-running vehicle in this process and God has MORE control of the wheel of my life. Thank you, Jesus!


Be encouraged, whatever your test is, God is in it if you’ll dare to see Him.



9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page