top of page
  • Writer's pictureSteffanie Russ

Little Lizard Lullaby



Funny how some things come into being. This is one such example I’d like to share in hopes of encouraging us today.


While most grandparents sing lullabies to their grands, it was our grand boy who started the nightly “lizard” ritual himself.

He stays with us for a week or more every so often.



It was while he was staying with us, I think a couple years ago now, that he began singing this to us in his raspy little voice each night,


“Go to sleep, go to sleep, go to sleep little lizard, go to sleep, go to sleep...”


Pops and I literally erupted in laughter the first time this happened. Little Lizard Lullaby. Slowly, it somehow managed to become our nightly routine whenever he’s with us. Wonderful memories in the making! (Now, Pops and I sometimes even sing it to each other before we go to bed...even without him here.)


Enter our live-wire grand girl, who just turned two this month. She comes three times a week to spend the day with Noni. She arrives at about six o’clock in the morning when her mom drops her off on her way to work. She always has her “choc-it milk” and usually goes right back to bed when I lay her down...only after we sing though.


Yes, I started the tradition my grand boy had begun with her as well. Keeping it in the family! I rock her closely and sing the Little Lizard lullaby and then lightly kiss the bridge of her nose and sing it once more before placing her in the pack and play and covering her with her soft, pink, blanky.


The other day, while I was singing to her, she looked me right in the eyes and grinned from ear to ear as she waited for that soft kiss in the middle. Her sleepy eyes seemed to just sparkle. Absolutely stole my heart! Aw, the joys of grand parenting!


Today, I thought about the urge I’ve had lately of desiring to be a kid again. You know, all the life, with all the innocence, and without the experiences and responsibility we have as adults? I’m sure I’m not the only one who has had those notions. Are you nodding your head in agreement?


Then I thought about this scripture in the Bible. Actually, it’s Zephaniah 3:17, “The LORD thy God in the midst of thee is mighty; he will save, he will rejoice over thee with joy; he will rest in his love, he will joy over thee with singing.


I smiled to myself as I thought about that scene in perspective of the Little Lizard lullaby. What rest and delight there is in knowing God holds us close on our darkest nights, and sings sweet peace over us with His mercies every morning. What assurance we have to know without a doubt that we aren’t alone and that He is near, that He loves us when we don’t feel lovable, and that He can be trusted to protect us from whatever fears and situations which may arise. What a blessed assurance we have.


The Bible also talks about us coming as little children so I think the Lord would completely agree with this concept.



As He rejoices over us, we feel safe and able to cast all our cares upon Him. We can look Him right in the eyes and smile knowing that He will do just what He has promised. We are the apple of His eye and there’s absolutely nothing we go through which He isn’t wise to. That, my friend, is the stuff that peaceful sleep is made of.


I’m in the need of being rocked and held close today, what about you? Are there situations we need to cast upon Him? Are we carrying burdens we weren’t designed to carry? He knows us and our struggles. We don’t have to be afraid or ashamed. Just rest in His arms and listen to Him sing over us. We are special simply because we are His. We can’t do anything to earn it, and we can’t mess it up either; He simply loves us through every night time experience and brings us through to glorious mornings. I didn’t say we would make it through without feeling any pain or hurt, but He tends to all that too. What I am assured of however, is that we are never alone in any of it. If we feel we are, let’s note that as a scheme of the enemy. We all feel alone occasionally, but if it lasts too long, remember it’s a trap.


So, if you’re struggling, or the next time you are feeling down, close your eyes with me and let’s picture ourselves tucked safely in His capable, loving arms, wrapped in the soft blanky of His love, and Him singing over us with great joy.


Now, let that peace begin to wash over us and know that all is well, little lizard — right here, right now.



12 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page