top of page
  • Writer's pictureSteffanie Russ

Just Endure!


“But he that shall endure unto the end, the same shall be saved.” Matt. 24:13


It happened to me again this weekend. The words “I’m NOT a quitter” flowed quietly out of my mouth as tears welled up in my eyes and blurred my vision.


You see, my dear hubby and I had set out for an enjoyable, stress-free evening of hunting. The weather was perfect except for it being a little too windy. The breeze felt nice though as the warm sun made its decent into sunset. I guess you could say it was an ideal evening, with the exception of one small thing — which was magnificently huge to me. You see, we hadn’t planned to hunt from ground level like we normally do; we were sitting eighteen feet up in the air.


I had known this. I climbed the ladder cautiously but with my mind at ease. I maneuvered to my side, turned around and gingerly sat down as my hubby made his way up the ladder. I was slowly getting my bearings straight when everything went a little crazy for me.


My heart began to thump wildly within my chest, my stomach started to churn, I began to feel shaken and slightly dizzy. Panic and anxiety overwhelmed me as I tightly gripped the frame of the tree stand and tried to remain in control of the situation.


I was scared. Terrified.


After several minutes had passed, my dear hubs asked if I wanted to get down. He assured me it was okay and that nobody would have to know. I sat there with my insides shaking like an earthquake while contemplating his suggestion. I silently began to reason with myself that we were safe. I began to pray and ask God to take away the fear. I quoted Bible verses to myself and tried breathing techniques and focusing. Nothing seemed to help much, but as much as I wanted to get down, I wouldn't.


Then he looked at me once again with questioning eyes and I replied, “I’m NOT a quitter!”


To make a long story short, I managed to sit there in that tree stand with my husband for four, long, terrifying hours. I’m sure God answered my prayers and I’m sure all the coping techniques made it more bearable too. Not to mention we saw a couple of deer which might have detoured my attention for a bit.


Somehow I knew if I got out of that stand that I’d never attempt to get back into it again. I had to stay put come what may because I’m not a quitter.


I thought of the many times in my life when quitting has felt like an option. Those times when life has seemed so overwhelmingly frightening and not worth the effort. The times I’ve fallen and felt like giving up, throwing in the towel, raising the white flag in surrender to the enemy — but I’m not a quitter!


I want to always be that way on this race toward my Heavenly home. I don’t want to allow the temporary setbacks, trials and dark, frightening seasons to cause me to stop running. I want to finish well! It will all be worth it all in the end if I don’t give up.


I know it might seem like an odd analogy but I just wanted to encourage someone out there today to keep on keeping on. Hang in there! Don’t give up, we’re too close to home now. Grit your teeth and grab ahold of some determination and spiritual gumption. Don’t turn back, you’ve come too far. Dig your heels in, quote some verses, cry out to God…whatever you do, just don’t quit. You’re not alone. Not today, not ever. Keep doing what you know is right.


Can you muster up an “I am NOT a quitter” today?


Just endure~


26 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page