top of page
  • Writer's pictureSteffanie Russ

In the Waiting


“Wait on the LORD: be of good courage, and he shall strengthen thine heart: wait, I say, on the LORD.” Psalms 27:14



Four years ago on this day, we buried our son. I don’t remember a whole lot about that day except for feeling like I’d possibly never make it through it. Actually, I probably didn’t want to either.


Fast forward to today. God has been faithful to me and I’m still here to tell you so. And, glad to do so.


He has carried me through this storm, otherwise I’d never have made it. He has held me close when I needed comfort and encouraged me when I felt like giving up.


While I might not be the most exuberant person on the planet today, He has planted joy in my soul. I know it is well.


He has been patient, loving, kind and understanding. He’s always there so I’m never alone. He is dependable, trustworthy and in the darkest times, always extended grace and mercy toward me.


Through this loss, I’ve grown, even though it has looked rather messy sometimes. The lessons are hard ones, but necessary for my story - and most valuable. I wouldn’t take anything for them. They are personalized especially for me. I’ve failed often, but He is always a gentle teacher who gives all; He doesn’t give up on me nor stop encouraging me to take the next step. And, most importantly, He always takes it with me.


I tell you all this because if He’ll do it for me in my situation, I can tell you without a doubt that whatever stormy situation you might be in right now, He’ll do the same for you.


God is never absent in the storm, nor does He waste it.


God is in the business of love. Love can look like a whole lot of things. It’s not just the fluffy Valentine’s stuff. It’s the gritty, sweat and tears stuff.


Patience.

Companionship.

Sacrifice.

Determination.

Willingness to give all.

Understanding.

Encouraging.

Teaching.

Leading.

And, love conquers all.


God is vested in each of us and doesn’t give up easy. So, we can rest easy — even in the storm.


I know it doesn’t feel good. I know it may seem impossible today. I know it might be painful, scary and lonely. I most def get it! However, He is holding you and I up, collecting our tears and providing strength for the moment. And, if we’ll learn from Him, we’ll be more assured in the next storm that He’ll see us through it as well.


Let me encourage us today, WE’VE GOT THIS, because God has us and He never leaves a job half-finished. It my be a moment before you see the sun shine again, but know that it will. Wait upon the Lord and be of good courage, He will make you stronger one storm at a time.


Blessings~


Share this good news with someone you know who is in a storm today, somebody who might need a little bit more help and encouragement in their day. Let’s be the hands and feet of Jesus. He’s relying upon and teaching us through each of our storms how to do so not only for our own good, but for others too.

18 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page