top of page
  • Writer's pictureSteffanie Russ

Come Apart or Fall Apart

Updated: Oct 16, 2022


Today, we stole away to the woods for a day of hunting. It was a cool, brisk morning from the start. We enjoyed our sausage, egg and cheese biscuit breakfast as we drove the hour trek to the woods in the early hour before dawn. Yeah, I got up for this intentionally.


The moonlight was bright enough for us to find our way along the path to our spot without any other assistance and we soon settled in. All was quiet until the sun began to rise.


So, I’ve heard the sounds of a crowing rooster, chattering squirrels, the whiz of a fly as it goes past my head, the ferocious buzzing of a hornet or two, the chirping of red birds, the rattle of falling leaves and acorns, the snort of agitated deer, and the sound of my hubby gently breathing as we wait.


I’ve witnessed a tiny green lizard climbing stealthily up a small tree in front of me, a grasshopper making its way quickly through blades of grass swaying in the wind, light orange butterflies and even a pair of Monarchs fluttering about. I’ve watched crows soar high above, several deer traipsing through the lane ahead of me, and spiders quietly spinning silky webs. I’ve seen pine trees sway in the wind and mighty oaks stand tall, Golden Rod and several variations of prickly vines, and also beautifully colored elderberry bushes.


There’s so much to recognize and observe as one season comes to and end and another begins. I’m thankful for the senses God blessed us with. I realize I’m blessed to have them all while others are handicapped of this blessing. And, I realize that was a lot of detail but I just hope you can grasp a glimpse of my surroundings.


Today, I’m just thankful. I just am.


I’m thankful for a quiet, peaceful, — now very warm — day. It’s been nice to relax and unwind and take a break from the normal hustle and bustle of life. We all need a break from reality every once in a while, don’t we? Just to chill, just to be, just to breathe. We all need a space and spot to rest.


Mark 6:31 says, “And he said unto them, Come ye yourselves apart into a desert place, and rest a while: for there were many coming and going, and they had no leisure so much as to eat.”


Rest. Sometimes we get so busy doing life that we become frustrated and overwhelmed. I’ve often said it, “Busyness is a trap of the enemy,” yet I find myself buzzing here and there without stopping for much downtime anyhow. Sometimes we’re pulled in every direction except the right one too. Sometimes we’re even running to keep our minds occupied. Guilty! I’m not saying it’s at all wrong to be busy, life requires it of us; sometimes it’s just not the best choice though. We must not be too busy for time with the Master, nor for times to rest and recharge. It can actually be a recipe for disaster, Jesus knew this and called His own disciples to come apart.


Today, I chose to come apart. We often here about people who are about to “fall apart” and it’s a real thing for certain. (Been there, done that, got the T-shirt...aw, you know the saying.) I always ask God for His help to be a good steward of all He’s given me, but I often forget about taking care of the me He made.


When I begin to feel I might fall apart, it’s time to come apart.

Today, I’m doing that! As odd and as slow as it feels, it has been good for me. I am recharging for tomorrow. To be a better me...for God, myself and you. Do you need to take care of yourself? I invite you (and it you need it, give you permission) to do what it takes to recharge yourself. It looks a little different for all of us, but just take the time before time and busyness takes you to overwhelm.


And, so far, we're just enjoying the breeze as the sun begins to subside for the evening. If we take a trophy home, great; if not, it's been blessed and beneficial anyhow. That's a trophy worth toting out of these woods with a thankful heart.


Blessings while I recharge ~


20 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page