top of page
  • Writer's pictureSteffanie Russ

Change...With the I AM


Change...who actually likes it? There may be some people who might embrace it while others run from it like it’s a rabid dog close on their tracks. That would be me! Whichever camp you’re a part of, change happens. It’s inevitable.


Change can have a positive outcome, such as when changing an unhealthy nutritional lifestyle. The result is shedding extra, unwanted poundage. This results in a stronger, healthier body on multiple levels. This most often calls for a celebration of some sort...psst...let’s celebrate, pass the ice cream, please.


Most changes we shy away from can have more of a negative connotation to them, such as being fired from what seemed to be a secure, lucrative career. A person’s entire lifestyle and status might be affected and this can be a very stressful and unwanted season of change.


The truth is, there’s not a single area of our lives which isn’t subject to and affected by change. The weather changes. Economies change. People change. Addresses and phone numbers change. Emotions and feelings change. Relationships change. Financial status, physical abilities, social status and even spiritual growth...it is all subject to change.


My dear friend, today, everything can change in an instant for us. I’m sure you can easily think of an example in your own life when this has happened. Good and bad. Sometimes we see the negative changes on a much bigger scale. It seems overwhelming and that’s normal.


But, perhaps you received a knock on your front door today and found out you won the Publisher’s Clearing House sweepstakes or perhaps someone blesses you in a really big way. Those are changes most of us would welcome, right?

However, as we are all aware, there are examples of change which bring about much pain such as an accident which claims a life of someone you love, or being diagnosed with a terminal illness, or losing everything you have in a house fire. These are negative situations which bring about very unwanted change.


There are many other examples too innumerable to count or allow time for here. Fortunate for us, no matter the changes which may come into our lives, there is something which will forever remain constant. What good news for us!


“Jesus Christ the same yesterday, and to day, and for ever.”

Hebrews 13:8


Now, we can take that to the bank, my friend. He is forever good, faithful, lovely, all-knowing, all-seeing, all-powerful, gracious...forever ALL we will ever need no matter what we face.


HE. IS.


There is NO change that takes Him by surprise. NO change He cannot use for His glory. NO change that will take us out or knock us down without Him on the scene to oversee it and rescue us. NO change which He cannot redeem.

Regardless of any change...

He is still my Healer.

He is still my Savior.

He is still my Creator.

He is still my Almighty.

He is still my Defender.

He is still the Lover of my soul.

He is still my Miracle Worker.

My Waymaker.

My Peace.

My Joy.

My Hope.


Get the picture? Sometimes it’s easy for our view to get clouded when life’s trials and tragedies are looming and changes are unwelcome. This doesn’t mean we won’t hurt, be sad, frustrated or feel lonely in this life; it simply means we won’t have to face any of these things alone. Yes, there is no change in my life which will ever negate any of these truths about my God so I’m in good shape. And so are you.


He is still the I AM, ________. (You fill in the blank with what you most need Him to be for you today.) He will be exactly that for you. He is sufficient every day in every situation. We need only lean on Him as He brings us through the hard spots and remember that we are not alone. Never ever!


Be encouraged today with whatever changes may be staring you down right now. We don’t have to like them, but they are definitely NOT bigger than our God. They are merely opportunities for Him to do what He does best, for His glory, for our benefit...and that is change we all welcome if we’ll stop to consider the whole picture.


Let’s run this race with patience today, my friend, the I AM is working on our behalf. That will never change!

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page