top of page
  • Writer's pictureSteffanie Russ

A Christmas Miracle



It’s the most wonderful time of the year…and some people like it, some don’t. I'll admit, it usually takes me a little bit to get into the “holiday spirit.” Yet, for those of us who receive the biggest satisfaction and delight out of giving, we’re soaring on cloud nine about now. Yes, it’s when I start giving that my heart is flooded with peace and joy.


There’s nothing quite like opening your heart to the possibility of finding or creating that “perfect” gift for a particular someone, wrapping it up and then giving it to them. It truly is more blessed to give than receive. That’s Bible folks!


I especially enjoy giving gifts I’ve put heart and thought into. When you receive a gift from me there’s usually a story or sentiment which goes along with it. I can’t help myself! I want every gift I give to proclaim, “You are the reason!” Yes, it takes time and effort but it’s SO worth it. So satisfying! Especially at Christmas.


This week, as I was minding my own business wrapping gifts, I found myself humming joyfully along to the Christmas music playing in the background and thanking God for the opportunity to give. And yes, my soul was soaring high! I was in this mindset when all the sudden this thought surfaced:


If I enjoy giving this much, what did it feel like to send the gift of baby Jesus to the earth the very first Christmas? How joyful was it to send such a precious little gift to the world?


Oh my! It was a gift that trumped any other one before or since then. It was the beginning of Christmas! A priceless gift given with much thought and reason! A miracle.


I smiled to myself thinking of the happiness and satisfaction, the joy and peace, that must have been felt in that Holy moment long ago. I imagined the excitement and fanfare as the angels sang and announced the stable delivery from the heavens. Talk about the true meaning of Christmas.


Jesus IS the reason for the season.

I also imagined how disheartened God must be that He’s given the most priceless gift ever and there are people everywhere who won’t receive it. Why on earth would someone not open a gift with their name on it? Why wouldn’t they want to be someone’s reason?


I don’t know about you, but this gal is ripping the paper off and claiming her gift as soon as I know it’s available; there’s no way I’d leave a gift unwrapped. How exciting to know I was part of His reason! It’s Jesus’ birthday yet He shares all His gifts with me.


I just want to leave you with a little something to ponder this Christmas season, especially if you're finding it a bit - or a whole lot - drab and weighty. It’s true, this season is all about the most precious gift, Jesus, and for celebrating His birth and the gift He has given to us in Himself.


This season is also for imitating our Savior and emptying ourselves for others. In His Word it says, “By this shall all men know that ye are my disciples, if ye have love one to another.” Love is giving and caring and its effects echo back to us as we give it away. It doesn't need to be done perfectly, just done. Whether it’s a hug, a simple card filled with sentiment, a cute coffee mug or maybe some yummy, homemade gift from your kitchen, or something on a bigger scale entirely - give from your heart and you shall receive. It’s a promise!


This Christmas, let’s give lavishly from the heart — and give our hearts wholly to the One who made it all possible in the first place. We are His reason!




Merry Christmas to you and yours, and happy giving. It doesn’t have to strip your bank account to be significant, it just has to come from the heart. Just last night, I gave away the brand new shoes on my feet and walked home barefoot — and filled with utter joy. If you have nothing to give but a hug, give it with all your heart and it's BIG.


When you open up and begin to give, I think you’ll find your heart will come alive and you’ll be filled with a healing measure of peace and joy. I've found this to be true for myself. Give and it shall be given to you…just give it a try, my friend. It's the principle of the first Christmas. Find your Christmas miracle today by simply giving from your heart, with all your heart.





P.S. Don’t forget, in all the hoopla, to unwrap His gift for yourself if you haven’t already or perhaps help someone else unwrap their Greatest Gift. Let someone know they are His reason, then start enjoying the season.

27 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page