top of page
  • Writer's pictureSteffanie Russ

The Best Life



“And I will walk at liberty: for I seek thy precepts.” Psalm 119:45



Sitting here on my front porch again, enjoying the taste and aroma of my warm cuppa. Hungry birds are flitting carelessly from feeder to feeder enjoying their morning fare. It’s a beautiful day indeed.


As I sat here being still and quiet, thinking on life and the Lord, I began looking at the flag and thinking about all it stands for. Liberty. Freedom. Etc.


I know it's normal representation, but today my mind wandered a little further off the beaten path and I thought I’d share. Maybe you could think of a few of your own to add.


I’m thankful I’m free to choose right. I’m free to live in the safety of integrity. I have the liberty to stand for truth and not waver because of the world’s definitions of right and wrong. There are some things I won’t do and some things I will do until I take my final breath. Nobody makes me, I have chosen. I stand for moral, Godly living and a lifestyle that would please my Maker. I happily take on the privilege to be a good steward over all He has entrusted to me and to rest in knowing true peace of mind. Period.


I have so much freedom, yet I often hear this isn’t the way to “live” life. Some of these same people call themselves free, but when you actually look at their lives it’s plain to see they’re in bondage. Invisible chains! Slavery.


God put us in this world, gave us a guide (His Word), and provided everything we’d need to sustain ourselves, as well as a conscious to steer us in the right direction. That, my friend, is living free. I have nothing to hang my head about, to hide, or be ashamed of. This is the BEST life!


Out of the corner of my eye, I spotted one of those pesky squirrels trying to sneak up the pole to the bird feeder where it doesn't belong. Little thieves! Pushing their way in. And suddenly, I think of all the ideologies of this world and how they try to sneak in and make their own rules seem normal and right.


Leave the birdseed for the birds!

And I think to myself, yes, I want to choose the right things God has set up for me. I want to make good choices that will keep me free of chains the world is impatiently waiting to wrap around and trap me in.


We all have a choice; I choose freedom. What about you?


Someone long ago knew what they believed and did something drastic because of it. They weren't content to give in to pressures against them. Me neither!


Give me liberty, or give me death!


This IS the BEST life!


11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page