top of page
  • Writer's pictureSteffanie Russ

Stop! Refresh.



“And be not conformed to this world: but be ye transformed by the renewing of your mind, that ye may prove what is that good, and acceptable, and perfect, will of God.”

Romans 12:2



The cool wind is gently blowing as soft whispers of light rain fall from the sky, and here I sit enjoying the gentleness of the morning.


It’s been quite a long while since I’ve written from or even sat and enjoyed my porch. Life happens, things get busy, priorities shift, and it can become quite a cluttered mess. True story.


My porch has been cluttered and used as a temporary storage drop-off for up-cycling tired, worn out furniture, a painting booth to spray random pieces which need refreshing, and a general mess if I’m going to be honest. Kind of like my heart.


No peaceful morning coffee or afternoon tea sessions have taken place, no cuppa has been enjoyed with a friend literally or virtually, and absolutely zero writing sessions like this. The rhyme and reason for my porch has went unfulfilled. Kind of like my heart.


I’ve not been still long enough to enjoy the birds feeding at their feeders, or to watch silly, mischievous squirrels chase each other around the trees. I’ve not paused to enjoy the beauty and newness of nature as the seasons changed. My life has been too busy and cluttered.


Yes, and so goes my heart at times. How about yours?


I get all wrapped up in clutter that just weighs me down, obscures my perspective and robs me of the joy God intends for His children to experience daily. He loves lavishly and desires for us to slow down enough to receive all of it. Busyness is often a thief of our peace, joy and a jillion other little things. In its wake, we eventually become empty and have nothing left to give out. What consumes us may not be wrong, but it’s not what’s best for our well-being or our relationships - earthly or Heavenly.


So, this morning I’m pausing, my cuppa is now close to empty, and as I continue writing the rain is getting heavier, the thunder is beginning to rumble - and here I sit. I’m noticing the birds are still chirping in the distance and I feel my heart slowly being filled again with contentment and the satisfaction of knowing this is a God moment for me to share.


Maybe yours is not on the porch, or in nature, or writing, or enjoying a cuppa but there is something you’re supposed to be doing today to bring a fresh breath of air and balance to your day. (Something in addition to the most important stuff like spending time with the Master.) Don’t allow the clutter of this hectic life to rob you of the peace and satisfaction God has reserved with your name on it.


We must be full in order to give, for our light to shine the brightest for Him and to fulfill the calling He has for us. Let’s be wise and intentional with our time and days, not allowing pointless clutter to clog up our joy and purpose. That’s a trap!


Whatever your plans are or what you have scheduled today, carve out a moment to clear the clutter. Stop! Regroup and refresh yourself so “ye may prove what is that good, and acceptable, and perfect, will of God.”


Have a wonderfully blessed day, my friend. Hope you enjoyed this porch session with me.


26 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page