top of page
  • Writer's pictureSteffanie Russ

Run…Then Walk Some More



We’re in a new season of life and change happens. Even though seasons consistently change, they always seem to catch me by surprise and it takes me a moment to latch onto the changes.


My husband and I started walking a 5K cross-country trail once or twice a week. I enjoy being outdoors so doing this has been a sort of treat, as well as a challenge, for me.


Last week, I decided I was ready to step it up a notch and do some light “running”. Yes, I’m afraid I’m a little over-the-top and stretch myself to the limit oftentimes…and sometime, past it.


So, we ran.


A quarter mile.


A half mile.


Then…I reluctantly had to quit. My body told me it had reached its limit.


Of course my body was in panic mode at this point. My lungs gasped for air, my leg muscles burned, beads of sweat soaked my clothes, and my heart pounded wildly as if it would soon beat a hole through my chest.


We continued to walk as I tried to regain my composure and proper breathing rhythm once again. I had tried…and come up short in my opinion. However, my dear hubby kindly reminded me that we each have our own individual limit of what our bodies are able to accomplish. For now, he said, we had accomplished enough.


Just keep walking.


Maybe I was crazy for attempting a run in the first place, but I was determined to at least finish. “I’m not a quitter!” I reminded myself  - and my hubby.


Just keep walking.


Our spiritual walk is similar to this experience I had. We give this leg of the journey our all, until we have no more to give. Seasons change and life happens, we alter and compensate for it, then continue traveling this journey we’ve begun.


Just keep walking!


There are moments along the way where we may desire to run when we are only actually able to walk. We might want to hurry through certain seasons of life, but some seasons and changes won’t be rushed. We must simply press on. We cannot afford to be quitters!


Just keep walking.


Maybe one day I’ll be able to run that course, but until then I’ll just keep walking. As long as I finish the course I’ve begun, I win — and so do you. That’s the ultimate purpose.


Reminds me of the verses of scripture where the apostle talks about finishing the course and keeping the faith. And the verses that say we shall run and not grow weary, walk and not faint. And the one that says we can do all things through Christ which strengthens us. And this one:


“Know ye not that they which run in a race run all, but one receiveth the prize? So run, that ye may obtain.”

         1 Corinthians 9:24


My friend, let’s keep running (or just walking) together. We each run our own race. Run or walk to win it! Whatever it takes. We might not finish as swiftly as others, but we’ve got to finish with purpose.


I received a sweet card in the mail recently and was once again reminded to tighten up and evaluate, stay strong and finish well.  And, that’s exactly what I intend to do. Hope you’ll continue to join me on this pathway toward Heaven - our reward. As I often try to remind those I travel this journey with, especially lately, we’re almost home.


Just keep walking. Be encouraged. Don’t panic! Adjust, evaluate and finish well.

God bless and keep you, and make His face shine upon you today wherever you are.


Blessings~

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page