top of page
  • Writer's pictureSteffanie Russ

Burrito Wrapped


Evy with her doll “burrito wrapped”


I will say of the Lord, He is my refuge and my fortress: my God; in him will I trust.”

Psalm 91:2



“Noni, I’m done! Wrap me like a burrito!”


I’m not sure how it all started, however, I became a burrito wrapper some time ago. No, it’s not what you may be thinking, my friend. I’m not talking about working on a line at Taco Bell.


You see, when our Grands stay at our house, after finishing their bath and tub “playtime”, I am summoned for the task: the “Har-sety House” burrito wrap. (Harsety is much easier to say than Hardesty, right?)


After being certain they’re actually completely bathed, I wrap them tightly, arms down, into a human burrito. Then, they’re carefully “delivered” to their Popsy for tickles before I unwrap them and dress them in their pajamas.


They think it’s the greatest…and we enjoy the shenanigans too. I must admit though, I have one burrito I can’t quite carry anymore. He just turned eight and his lankiness doesn’t quite fold up as easily for me anymore. (Enjoy the moments while they last, they’ll be grown before we know it! Right?)


They think it’s so great to be wrapped safe and tight. They giggle and grin from ear to ear. I must admit to you, I like that safe feeling as an almost-fifty year old too. How about you?


I believe deep down we all desire a place to be safe and secure, to be loved and cared for, and to be significant. Am I right? If we each have this desire, it must be installed into our wiring by our Creator, don’t you think?


I quietly hum that old song about being sheltered safely in the arms of God, and it’s almost like a lullaby to my weary soul. I think about the verse in Psalms which references being taken tenderly into the Shepherd’s arms or under the wings of the Almighty. Yes, He placed the desire within us and only He can satiate our longings.


I find more than ever before, that I long to be wrapped safely in the arms of Jesus. Today, I’m hollering out to Him like my Grands do to me, “God, I’m done! Wrap me up like a burrito.”


Only in Him do we find the rest, peace and security we all long for. Only in Him do we have hope, strength, and assurance that all is well with our soul no matter what life may look like.

Wrap us up today, God!


I don’t know about you, my friend, but there’s absolutely no place I’d rather be than wrapped safely in the arms of God every day. Want to join in this shenanigan? Sure, it’s a kids game, but then, we ARE God’s children.


Safe and secure from all alarm…

20 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page